Divi 

WordPress Theme
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GoDaddy for Wordpress

Discussion in 'Starting a (WordPress) Website' started by Crashtester, Jul 17, 2014.

1. Crashtester

Im really new to Wordpress but I have a GoDaddy hosting plan and last week I was asked if I could help someone setup a Wordpress site. Wordpress is available on GoDaddy as a preinstalled app so I installed it and have been having a play with installing templates and adding widgets. Now I need to help the third party set up their own Wordpress site.

My preference is to use GoDaddy to host the site based on my existing knowledge of the control panel and getting it all up any running. Does anyone have any thoughts on this? goDaddy offer a dedicated Wordpress hosting package but I'm opting for a full web hosting plan as that has some features over the dedicated hosting that my client needs.

2. SimplySidy

My personal experience with GoDaddy and Wordpress has been so horrible and tormenting that I never recommend using them at least for Wordpress when it comes to their full web hosting plan. They might be good with their dedicated wordpress things.

Anyways, though this is now unavoidable as you already have got the plans a few things -
    1. Do NOT use their Softaculous installer for wordpress (why their, I would recommend nowhere, use that app for wordpress) It messes up many times. Always GO with a Custom installation where you download wordpress and upload it to the server via FTP. That way, you are in control and are sure that you are not installing a piece of application which is bugged or anything. + You also control what version you upload (though the latest should be installed).

2. Do NOT name the default login to be Admin. Use anything else. That makes the people who might try to hack your blog//site face some difficulty