Divi 

WordPress Theme
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't change "From" field in Form e-mail notifications

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting & How-To's' started by ashepca, Feb 21, 2017.

1. ashepca

I'm totally new to WordPress. A client has asked me to help them with their website - I was not involved with the set up at all.

They have several forms on their website. Currently, when a visitor submits a form, an e-mail is sent to my client's e-mail address. The e-mail says it is from "Joe's" email address. "Joe" is the guy who set up their website - but no longer works for them.

I'm trying to change it so that the e-mails no longer say the e-mail comes from "Joe" but that it comes from the client's company e-mail address, or even that it comes from WordPress would be fine.

In WordPress WP-admin, I select "Forms" from the left menu, then under one of the forms listed I select "Settings", then "Form Actions", then I open the "Email Notification". I can change the e-mail in the "To:" field successfully, say to my e-mail - and then the submitted form info is e-mailed to me. So I tried changing the "From" field - but it doesn't work - no matter what I put in that field - the From field in the received e-mail still says Joe's email.

I've tried clearing the cache, reloading everything, waiting a few days trying again, and still nothing.

I've looked everywhere else in WP-admin. I deleted Joe from the list of Users. I also changed the email in "Settings/General/e-mail" - which had been Joe but it's now the client's e-mail address. None of this made any difference.

I can't find anywhere else Joe is mentioned. I checked the HTML code as well - and he's not in there either.

If it is helpful, it looks like Formidable was used to generate the forms. When I look under "Forms", "Global Settings", "General" - there is a "Formidable Forms License" tab which says "Formidable Pro" is installed.